Board of Governors

The Paul Mellon Centre operates under the aegis of Yale University. Four members of Yale University's executive management comprise the Trustees of the Centre, and have legal responsibility for its operations. Susan Gibbons, Chief of Staff to the President and Vice Provost for Collections and Scholarly Communication, is ex-officio Chief Executive of the Paul Mellon Centre.

The Board of Governors currently consists of:


Peter Salovey, President, Yale University

Scott Strobel, Provost and Henry Ford II Professor of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry and Professor of Chemistry; Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor, Yale University

Susan Gibbons, Chief of Staff to the President, and Vice Provost for Collections and Scholarly Communication, Yale University

Stephen Murphy, Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer, Yale University


Timothy Barringer, Paul Mellon Professor of the History of Art, Yale University

Edward S. Cooke, Jr, Charles F. Montgomery Professor of the History of Art, Director of the Center of Study in American Decorative Arts and Material Culture, Yale University

Pericles Lewis, Vice President for Global Strategy and Vice Provost for Academic Initiatives and Douglas Tracy Smith Professor of Comparative Literature and Professor of English, Yale University

Courtney J. Martin, Director of the Yale Center for British Art

Jules D. Prown, Paul Mellon Professor Emeritus Director of History of Art, Yale University

Keith Wrightson, Randolph W. Townshend. Jr. Professor Emeritus of History, Yale University

Advisory Council

A group of distinguished representatives meet twice a year to consider applications for financial support offered by the Paul Mellon Centre’s Grants & Fellowships Programme.

The Centre's Advisory Council currently consists of:

Viccy Coltman, University of Edinburgh

Elena Crippa, Whitechapel Gallery

Caroline Dakers, University of Arts London

David Dibosa, Tate

John Goodall, Country Life

Fiona Kearney, University College Cork

Dorothy Price, Courtauld Institute of Art

Kate Retford, Birkbeck, University of London

Mark Sealy, Autograph ABP

Victoria Walsh, Royal College of Arts

Beth Williamson, University of Bristol

The Council’s meetings are also attended by Rachel Chatalbash, Deputy Director for Research, Yale Center for British Art.

Publications Committee

A group of distinguished scholars and publishers meet twice a year to consider proposals for Paul Mellon Centre publications. The Centre's Publications Committee currently consists of:

Paul Binski, University of Cambridge

Mark Eastment, Yale University Press

Saloni Mathur, University of California, Los Angeles

John Nicoll, publisher

Elizabeth Prettejohn, University of York

Christine Stevenson, Courtauld Institute of Art

Lisa Tickner, Courtauld Institute of Art

Annual Reports

The most recent Annual Report, No. 52, is available below.

Other copies of Paul Mellon Centre Annual Reports (2015–) are available via our Issuu channel.