British Art Network: Bursary Awardees 2020–21

  • 22 October 2020

The British Art Network bursary awardees for 2020–21 have been announced. Activity for the three strands of bursary awards will run through to early summer 2021. Further details on the focus areas for the new research groups and how to join them will soon be made available via the British Art Network webpage.

The successful applications were:

Research Groups

Black British Art
Alice Correia, Elizabeth Robles, Marlene Smith

British South Asian Visual Art Post Cool Britannia
Daniel Sturgis, Raksha Patel

British Women Artists, 1750–1950
Alice Strickland, Katie Herrington

Emma Roodhouse, Helen Record, Jenny Gaschke

Northern Irish Art
Anna Liesching, Clare Gormley

Post-War British Painting in Regional Collections
Hana Leaper, Julie Brown, Sophie Hatchwell

Queer British Art
Charlotte Keenan, Dominic Bilton

Race, Empire and the Pre-Raphaelites
Kate Nichols, Sabrina Rahman, Victoria Osborne

The Re-Action of Black Performance
Ashanti Harris, Sabrina Henry

Working Class British Art
Beth Hughes, Michelle McGrath

Two-Day Seminars

Modernism and Northern Ireland
Catherine Hemelryk, Matt Retallick

Reimagining Colonial Narratives: Screen-Based Media, Performance and Photography
Roshini Kempadoo

Emerging Curators Group

Chiedza Mhondoro
Clare Gormley
Ellie Tait
Harvey Dimond
Janet Couloute
Jess Starns
Lauren Craig
Lisa Kennedy
Lorna Rose
Marta Marsicka
Prerona Prasad
Ryan Kearney
Sam Metz
Siobhan McLaughlin
Umulkhayr Mohamed